Those nights that I met with rain

Those nights that I met with rain,
Quietly slipping past
Wooden doors that held behind
Stately, sheltered lives;
At every step and every turn,
I stumbled upon
Puddles of moonlight
Discovering anew the world;
Those nights that I met with rain,
I watched with delight –
the majestic sway
Of leaves drenched with life.

Between dusty corners
were recollections
Of all my days and nights reside,
The rain, the leaf and the moonlight
Paint a picture, vivid and bright –
That is my childhood to me.

Today, I looked around
At all the trappings of my life
And wondered whether it would be
The coat or the tie
Or the clock by the bedside
That would define – my adulthood to me.

I took a pen and then redrew
Everything that was me.
It rained.
And I now have,
The leaf and the moonlight
Within me.

Leave a Reply

